the “before” pictures

The space Danji is going to fill is kind of a hot mess right now.  The demolition should start taking place next week, so I thought it would be a good idea to take a few “before” pictures of 346 W 52nd Street.

My first impression of the place was that it is cramped.  And dirty.  Even though the space has been empty for a while, it is hard to believe that it housed a restaurant before.  From the peeling ceilings to the scratched floors, it looked as if it has always been unkempt.  The loose wires, dust, and lingering weird smell made me question whether it could ever be turned into a chic restaurant.  It may have been a cozy place to dine in thirty years ago, but now exudes an outdated look that feels out of place in comparison to its modern surroundings.

I can’t wait to see what the team has in store for Danji.  Its transformation could possibly serve as a model for the pilot of Extreme Makeover: “NYC Restaurant” Edition.  A great idea, if I must say so myself…

One Comment to “the “before” pictures”

  1. Looks like much work needs to be done. I’m excited that you finally closed on the lease and can move on to more “fun” things. I’m sure this entire process will require lots and lots of patience and endurance. But, I’m sure you can do it!! Good luck!!! I’ll be checking up on this blog from time to time…

Leave a Reply

